Scott Dixon repeats at The Glen

Driving with a striking, new blue paint scheme, Target Chip Ganassi Racing's Scott Dixon avoided the trouble that most of the other front runners hit, and won the 2nd Annual Watkins Glen Indy Grand Prix. The defending race champion beat out hard-charging Vitor Meira and Ryan Briscoe in a one lap shoot out following the last yellow caution period. Dixon took the lead on lap 47 from Buddy Rice, who finished a season high 4th. Fifth went to AJ Foyt Racing's Felipe Giaffone, with Ed Carpenter registering a career high 6th place finish. The race started under heavy, overcast skies and a very damp track. The first driver to switch to slick tires was Tomas Scheckter, who figured he had nothing to lose from his 15th starting position. As the rest of the field began to come to the same conclusion, that the track was drying quickly, Scheckter found himself in the lead. He would hold that lead for 12 laps, second most of the event. Although he wouldn't lead a single lap during the race, Marco Andretti may have had the strongest car in the Watkins Glen Indy Grand Prix. He would set the event's fastest lap at 127.873 mph on the 38th circuit while chasing down the leaders. Marco was taking big chunks of time out of Helio Castroneves' lead when he came upon the lapped car of Eddie Cheever Jr. Cheever, the oldest driver in the event, apparently was surprised that Andretti, the youngest driver, was making his move on the approach to turn 9. As he took his normal line approaching the corner, Marco's NYSE Group Andretti Green Racing machine was forced into the guard rail and out of the race. Rain fell for the first time with about 8 laps to go. Many teams, fearing that the showers that had been hitting the track all weekend would return, switched to grooved rain tires. Unfortunately for them, no downpour materialized. Because of the wet conditions, the race was cut off at the two-hour time limit. The 55 laps were covered in a time of 2:00:20.022, with an average speed of 92.418 mph.

© 2017 Watkins Glen International


ISC Track Sites