Buddy Rice on Record Pace in IndyCar Series Practice

Buddy Rice, 2004 Indy 500 winner, topped the time charts with a lap time of 1:30.2580 (134.415 mph) in opening practice for the IndyCar® Series Camping World Watkins Glen Grand Prix. The top 5 drivers all set times under the existing track record of 1:30.6688 (133.806 mph) set in 2005 by Helio Castroneves. Second fastest was 2007 Indy 500 winner and current IndyCar® Series point leader Dario Franchitti with a time of 1:30.3110 (134.336 mph), followed by 2006 Indy 500 and IndyCar Series Champion Sam Hornish Jr. at 1:30.3723 (134.245 mph). Fourth fastest was 2001 and 2002 Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves at 1:30.4954 (134.062 mph) ahead of two-time defending Watkins Glen Grand Prix winner Scott Dixon 1:30.5734 (133.947 mph) Drivers will have two more 30-minute sessions to fine tune their machines before qualifying on Saturday at 1:30 p.m. Tickets for the race weekend celebration during the Camping World Watkins Glen Grand Prix, or the NASCAR Nextel Cup at The Glen and Zippo 200 weekend August 9-12 are still available. For tickets and additional race weekend information, please contact the Watkins Glen International ticket office at 866-461-RACE, log onto www.TheGlen.com , buy online at www.racetickets.com or stop by The Shop located at 2 North Franklin Street in downtown Watkins Glen.

© 2017 Watkins Glen International


ISC Track Sites