Dixon Tops Practice at WGI; Perera Wins Pole for Corning Duels

Scott Dixon didn't hold anything back as the IndyCar Series began preparations for Sunday's Camping World Grand Prix at The Glen. The winner of all three previous IndyCar Series events at Watkins Glen International topped the speed chart as 26 drivers participated in 2 ½ hours of practice on the 11-turn, 3.4 mile circuit. Dixon, who has won at The Glen from second and fourth twice, recorded a best lap of 1 minute, 30.1947 seconds, 134.509 mph in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing machine. Helio Castroneves, who has won all three PEAK Motor Oil Pole Awards at Watkins Glen, was second fastest with a best lap of 134.368 mph. Dixon's teammate Dan Wheldon was third, Panther Racing's Vitor Meira was fourth and KV Racing Technology's Will Power was fifth. Dixon and Castroneves are first and second, respectively, in the IndyCar Series point standings. Also on July 4, Franck Perera won the SWE Pole Award for Race 1 of the Firestone Indy Lights Corning Duels. Perera, making his second Firestone Indy Lights start after starting the season with two starts in the IndyCar Series, lapped the course in 1 minute, 37.8651 seconds, 123.967 mph in the final minute of the 30-minute session. Raphael Matos, the pole winner at the series only other road/street course thus far in 2008, qualified second, while Jeff Simmons, the 2005 race winner at Watkins Glen, was third. Richard Antinucci, who is second in points, will start Race 1 fourth. J.R. Hildebrand qualified fifth. Series points leader Dillon Battistini qualified 17th. Firestone Indy Lights drivers will compete in two 29-lap races Saturday, the first time both races of a doubleheader weekend have occurred on the same day. The starting lineup for Race 2 will be based on the results of Race 1.

© 2017 Watkins Glen International


ISC Track Sites