Frisselle, AIM Autosport to Start from Pole in Crown Royal 200

One week after scoring his first Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 victory, Brian Frisselle gained his first career pole position Thursday in qualifying for the Crown Royal 200, shattering the Watkins Glen International short course record in the process. Frisselle ran a lap of 1:05.243 (135.187 mph) on the last lap of the session, and will lead the 20-car field Friday for Round 12 of the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 at 6:37 p.m. (SPEED, 8 p.m. ET). It was the second pole position for the No. 61 AIM Autosport Exchange Traded Gold Ford Riley, with Mark Wilkins qualifying fastest for the Brumos Porsche 250 at Daytona International Speedway in July. "We definitely have momentum on our side," Frisselle said. "If you look at the last few races, Mark won the pole at Daytona, we were leading the race at Barber before our engine failure and we won last week at Montreal. It's finally coming together. We've been strong, but we got the monkey off our backs with our first win. That definitely helped the team. Now, everyone's ready to go after it." David Donohue, a three-time Daytona Prototype pole winner in 2008, was second fastest with a lap of 1:05.740 (134.165 mph), in the No. 58 Brumos Racing Porsche Riley. Donohue and co-driver Darren Law seemed headed to victory last weekend in the Montreal 200 at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, but ran out of gas only a few yards from the finish and finished third. "We've got a lot of resolve," Donohue said. "Losing that way makes us more motivated. It's been a while since we won a race (2003 at Mont-Tremblant, Canada), but in our hearts, we've won several races." Sharing the second row will be Michael Valiante, 1:06.027 (133.582 mph) in the No. 10 SunTrust Racing Pontiac Dallara he co-drives with Max Angelelli, and Jon Fogarty, 1:06.163 (133.307 mph) in the No. 99 GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing Pontiac Riley he co-drives with Alex Gurney. Fogarty set the track record last year with a lap of 1:07.020 (130.603 mph). Rounding out the top 10 were Memo Rojas, Mark Patterson, Bill Auberlen, Christian Fittipaldi, Ricky Taylor and John Pew. The top 13 qualifiers - also including Shane Lewis, Nic Jonsson and Andy Lally - were faster than the standing qualifying record. Friday's activities at The Glen include practice and qualifying for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and practice for the Nationwide Series. The Crown Royal 200, an 82-lap race with a two-hour time limit, is set to take the green flag at 6:37 p.m.

Related Topics

2008 Crown Royal 200, Grand Am

© 2017 Watkins Glen International


ISC Track Sites